In the Nicki of Time – take 3!

Lighthouse Whitehaven 2I started this blog in 2014, my 50th year, having set myself a 50/50 challenge. Read 50 books and see 50 films in one year.

By the end of 2014, I hadn’t achieved my goals. I toyed with the idea of closing down the blog. But I recalled one of my children telling me that the man who patented lightbulbs tested thousands before found the one which would work. I’m not sure if the tale is true, but it sparked a lightbulb moment of my own! I didn’t want to give up – failure is a learning opportunity and so I tried again last year. 50 books and 50 films in one year. I did better in 2015, managing to read (and review) 50 books – but fell short of the films total having watched just 31.5.

My failure has irked me, nagged at my conscience. So, here I am for the third time. Third time lucky, don’t they say? I’d say I have more than a 50/50 chance of success!

I hope you enjoy exploring the blog and find some inspiration for your own reading or viewing. You are welcome to get in touch, I love hearing from visitors to the blog!

12 thoughts on “In the Nicki of Time – take 3!

  1. Jane Kelly January 19, 2014 / 8:52 am

    Goodness Nicki that is a great challenge, will look forward to reading all about it. Good luck with all three parts!

  2. Carol (Nicki's Mum!) January 8, 2014 / 10:35 am

    Well by now you should have read one book, watched a film and lost a pound – one week into 2014.

  3. Carol Choules-Rowe January 7, 2014 / 10:43 pm

    So by now you should have finished your first book, watched a film and lost a pound – one week into 2014!
    Good luck on your journey through this New Year. if you fall by the wayside at any time you know where I am
    Lots of love – Mum

  4. inthenickioftime January 6, 2014 / 1:52 pm

    Thanks, Olivia – I love to get new recommendations. I have not heard of any of your suggestions before (!) so will be Googling for possibilities.

  5. Sabine Rodda January 5, 2014 / 11:58 am

    Fab idea, I will make this my first blog to follow! Can I challenge you to watch a german film with me? Have brought back some good ones and you are allowed sub titles! Good luck with the whole project!

    Sabine

  6. Olivia January 5, 2014 / 7:29 am

    😀 So, when can we expect the next blog entry? 🙂 50 hours after this one? 😉 Or when you’ve demolished your first book, first film and first lb? :lol ie. in about 5 days/a week from now? What are you reading? I *would* recommend a David Foster Wallace novel I loved last year, “Infinite Jest”, but it’s gigantic, and took me months, literally, to get through. :lol He has written some wonderful essays though, shorter/smaller format. Otherwise a Doris Lessing, the two volume but shortish “Diaries of Jane Somers”. I haven’t read many new books in ages. Wallace was the biggie last year; I’m still only a third of the way through his last and unfinished novel ( he killed himself in 2008/9 ), “The Pale King”, which is good but again slow … ummm … Have you read the Mapp and Lucia novels by E F Benson; they’re funny, and a fast read. 🙂 Hope things are going well. Good luck and “courage”. xxx

  7. Olivia January 3, 2014 / 4:46 pm

    Cool! Is it a sort of diet and distraction “support-thread” then? 🙂 Good luck and best wishes for a super 50th year and success at the “50’s”. 😀

  8. Selma January 3, 2014 / 4:30 pm

    Really looking forward to following your journey in this 50th year. Cannot wait to be entertained by you, as I know I will be. Enjoy the journey and good luck ♥

    • inthenickioftime January 6, 2014 / 1:53 pm

      Thanks, Selma – I have not the remotest idea how to be deliberately entertaining, but maybe the blog will morph as I get into it.

  9. Ness January 3, 2014 / 3:56 pm

    Please can I watch one of the films with you? I can provide a brilliant film xx

    • inthenickioftime January 6, 2014 / 1:54 pm

      What a fabulous idea, Ness! Gimme a clue about the film…..

Leave a Reply

