Book No 1 (2014) : And the Mountains Echoed

And the Mountains EchoedThis novel, the third by Khaled Hosseini, was on my Christmas list. I have been married to Santa for almost 24 years and he rarely lets me down.

As a fan of both The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, I was expecting to be totally absorbed by  And the Mountains Echoed in the same way. The novel unfolds through the eyes of several characters, all linked to each other in some way. It explores the effects of separation upon families and communities. War is a backdrop, but this is not a political book; its core is the depiction of the central characters, each of whom faces personal challenges brought about, in the main, by the actions of the previous generation. But I was disappointed. The plot is not compelling, the characters thinly drawn.

The trouble is, I couldn’t help comparing with Hosseini’s previous novels, but it wasn’t a patch.

Pretty cover, though.

3 thoughts on “Book No 1 (2014) : And the Mountains Echoed

  1. Cheryl Bryers January 6, 2014 / 11:01 pm

    Even prettier than “Bitter Almonds” I waould suggest!

    • inthenickioftime January 8, 2014 / 7:33 pm

      Oh Cheryl, Selma will never be allowed to forget! Maybe I should re-read ‘Bitter Almonds’ as one of my 50 this year, in case I see it differently now?!

  2. eclectichomelife January 6, 2014 / 10:06 pm

    Oh no! how dissapointin, I too hope to read this and loved the previuos too also. Maybe stick to my Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children then?

Leave a Reply

