Film No 32 (2014) : Divergent

divergent filmNew York, New York – so good they named it twice.

Divergent, Divergent – so good we watched it twice! Seriously, we viewed it twice in 2 days.

The 2014 film adaptation of the novel features Shailene Woodley as Tris  and Ansel Elgort as her brother, Caleb (the pair are also cast opposite one another in The Fault in our Stars). Four is played by Theo James (a local-born lad, went to Aylesbury Grammar) and the movie also stars Ashley Judd (Natalie, Tris’ mother) and Kate Winslet. Directed by Neil Burger, it is a faithful adaptation of the novel, although the book goes into far more detail about the friendships and tensions which develop between the Dauntless initiates. I also found that, somewhat surprisingly, the violence in the written version was more graphic than on-screen. This film has a great soundtrack, with Ellie Goulding, Snow Patrol and Kendrick Lamar.

Even if you have not read the book, this is a great action movie, with plenty of food for thought. When I was younger, I don’t remember watching many films aimed at teenagers which made me think that deeply about anything – there was not much between ‘Midnight Express’ and ‘Grease’! Tris’ tests as part of the Dauntless initiation certainly made me reflect upon my own attitudes to fear, whether mental or physical. I’ve never been in a situation where I faced real physical danger (unless you count getting snow-bound in my Ford Fiesta on the A90 in Forfar), mental fears are more my forte. I’m frightened of failing, of exposure, of humiliation, frightened to even try sometimes. Beating our inner demons seems to require far more courage than overcoming more tangible ones.

Dauntless never give up. Tris makes the cut, but I am not sure I would.

 

Leave a Reply

