Book No 44 (2015) : Waiting for Doggo

doggoDoggo belongs to Clara and Dan, having been rescued from Battersea Dogs’ Home. When Clara leaves without warning, she leaves Doggo behind, forcing Dan to persuade his new employers that a virtually hairless, scruffy mutt would make a valuable contribution to the office environment. Somewhat reluctantly, the boss agrees, leaving Dan and Doggo to negotiate their new working life together, in a trendy ad agency.

Although a dog owner (I have a cocker spaniel named after my favourite author), books which feature humanised animals are not a big hit with me, so I was relieved to discover that the pooch in this book can’t actually talk. However, the more I read, the more I realised that the book would have been greatly enhanced if Doggo could give his view on Dan’s life. Especially when his colleague tries to frame him by bringing a frozen turd to the office in a Tupperware box, then transferring it to a carefully chosen spot and trying to blame the deposit on the dog. If I were a dog, I’d certainly have something to say about that.

It is embarrassing to admit how long it took me to realise that the title of this book is a play on the words of Samuel Becket’s ‘Waiting for Godot‘. I mean, it was at least half way through. I think the pun is the only reference to the classic work though. Maybe ‘Waiting for Doggo’ has delusions of black comedy, but frankly I didn’t find it that clever.

Thank you to Net Galley for my copy of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

