Film No 4 (2014) : The Heist

deer hunterthe heistIn my mind, Christopher Walken is a scary bloke – I always remember him wearing that red bandana whilst playing Russian Roulette in ‘The Deer Hunter’. It felt a bit incongruous to see him playing a mild-mannered museum guard in ‘The Heist’. The film has a great cast; as well as Christopher Walken, it stars Morgan Freeman and William.H.Macy (‘Fargo‘, ‘Magnolia‘). Three art museum curators plot to steal two paintings and a sculpture after the museum management decides to move the pieces to Europe.  It is obvious that the would-be crooks’ plans will not go smoothly, and the ensuing mishaps threaten the success of the heist.

But, oh dear, what a slow film. Billed as a comedy and with a cover that depicts an action thriller, the movie is actually a gentle stroll, a comment on the power of art – with a few mild chuckles thrown in.

3 thoughts on “Film No 4 (2014) : The Heist

  1. inthenickioftime February 3, 2014 / 8:16 pm

    HIya, Olivia. I think the fact that I can’t really remember many films that I have loved is party what prompted me to try and watch more movies this year. I got a copy of ‘Master and Commander; at the weekend, will let you know how I get on with it!

  2. Olivia January 30, 2014 / 6:45 pm

    PS. What is the last film that you saw and absolutely adored? 🙂

  3. Olivia January 30, 2014 / 6:43 pm

    Hi! 🙂 You seem to be having rather a ( mostly ) drab/dreary/unexciting/flat/stale/unprofitable time with the films. 😦 I keep waiting for you to watch one of my favourite films or one that I haven’t seen yet but passionately want to so that can discuss it with you 😀 🙂 … and then wondering ( with each new blog entry ) what on earth inspired you to watch these particular films. 😕 :lol 🙂 Am thinking that either we have *very* different taste in books and films ( quite possible/the simplest explanation 😉 ), *or* that you have *already* seen all/most the films that I love or think that I’ll love, *or* that you are dependent ( for financial reasons perhaps ) on a very small/restricted supply/stock of what I would class ( myself ) as the second-rate/the sort of films which turn up on “3 for £10” racks at supermarkets. You can get some v good films for practically nothing from Amazon, but I expect you already know that :lol 🙂 … So we must just have very different tastes! 😀 Have you seen “Dark City”, “3/10 to Yuma”, “Memento”, “World’s End” or “Master and Commander”? ( just a drop in the ocean of films I think are worth watching ).

Leave a Reply

